Armenian Apricot Red Lentil Soup

I have wanted to make red lentil soup with apricots ever since I saw a recipe for it in The Cranks Recipe Book. But I held off for some inexplicable reason. Then I saw it again in a cookbook called The Soup Peddler’s Slow & Difficult Soups. I still held off. Then I saw that Heidi made it.

So, on a dark, wet day that begged for soup, I finally made the recipe. I cut the amounts in half and made a few other changes. I hate having to put soup in a blender, so I changed the recipe so that it would turn to mush on its own: I chopped the vegetables and apricots very finely; Instead of adding the apricots at the end, I added them at the same time that I added the lentils and water; and I cooked the soup for a very, very long time, until the lentils completely disintegrated. I had to keep adding water because the soup got very thick.

The flavor was a tad bland, but nice. I added ground pepper, but I wanted to add a touch of lemon juice to brighten it up. The Cranks book calls for lemon juice and fresh parsley. Please to the Table adds in lemon juice, garlic, thyme, and some chopped tomatoes–that would be nice. I think that would add the bite that I think this soup needs. I must try that version next.

All the same, my favorite red lentil soup is this really easy recipe from Good Housekeeping. I substitute plain water for the canned vegetable broth.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

