Archive for December 7th, 2008

Soft Whole Wheat Pretzels

December 7, 2008

I had a great time making soft pretzels with my son. I made a recipe from Helen Witty’s book, The Good Stuff. Next I want to try the recipe for hard pretzels from that book. And I want to try making cheese crackers, my son’s absolute favorite. Giving him homemade would make me feel marginally less guilty.

Vegetarian Osso Bucco

December 7, 2008

I was intrigued by a recipe in the Vegetarian Times for Vegetarian Osso Buco. It won the 2008  readers recipe contest.

I changed it around a lot, though. I don’t think it should even be called Vegetarian Osso Buco. Maybe Veggie Chicken Stew. Whatever it should be called, it was a huge hit.

Veggie Chicken Stew
olive oil
1 cup onion, chopped
1 cup carrot, chopped
2 zucchini, cubed
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 small can tomato sauce
1 can petite diced tomatoes
2 tsp. Italian seasoning
1/2 – 1 tsp. lemon pepper seasoning
1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1 package Morningstar Farms veggie chicken strips

Saute the onion and garlic until translucent. Add the carrot and zucchini and saute until tender. Ad the rest of the ingredients and simmer 15 minutes.

Faster Vegan Spinach Quiche

December 7, 2008

I have had my eye on a vegan spinach quiche at 101 Cookbooks for a while now. Heidi reported that it took her 3 hours to make. A bit discouraging. I took a few shortcuts and cut it down to 1 hour prep time, 1 hour bake time.

I sauteed 1 cup of onion and 4 cloves of garlic, minced, in olive oil until translucent, and then dumped in 1 1/2 pounds of frozen spinach.

While that was cooking, covered, I made the crust. I pulsed 1/2 cup of oatmeal with 1 cup of whole wheat flour in a food processor, and then pulsed in 1/3 cup each of olive oil and water until the mixture started to clump. I pressed the crust mixture out into a 12″ round on a square of non-stick heavy duty foil. I put the dough circle (still on the foil) on a baking sheet.

I mashed up the spinach and seasoned it. I then pureed it with 1 package of extra-firm tofu in the food processor. This made plenty of filling, which I poured into the center of my crust. Then I lifted up the foil all around the filling to create edges for the tart. I flipped some of the crust over the filling to make it more like a galette. Then into the oven to bake.

It was OK. Truthfully, I missed the eggy-ness and cheesiness of real quiche. Also, I really should have added in the mushrooms. But, not bad.

Much yummier was the vegan stew that I made last week.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers