Milk’s Ooey-Gooey Double Chocolate Cookies

The LA Times SOS column is one of the most reliable sources of out-of-this-world recipes straight from popular restaurants and bakeries. This past week’s column was a must make: Milk’s Ooey-Gooey Double Chocolate Cookies.

double chocolate cookies

Milk is a “Cafe, Ice Cream Parlor and Bakeshop”  in LA that was opened in 2007 by Bret Thompson. The Ooey-Gooey Double Chocolate Cookie is just one yummy sounding treat on the menu. (But what is up with the Blue Velvet Cake?)

The recipe at first reminded me of Maida Heatter’s famous cookies, but a closer study of the recipe makes me think it is basically brownie recipe with a massive amount of chopped chocolate mixed in (a whole pound!). 

Callebaut chocolate

It is the same idea as the Heatter recipe, though. If you look at the Heatter recipe, you will see that the method of making the cookies and baking them, even the yield is almost identical. The amount of flour is larger, closer to the amount in brownies, and the amount of chocolate is much, much larger. And the Heatter cookies are famously rich. So, that gives you some idea how over the top these cookies are . . . .  Ina Garten turned Heatter’s recipe into outrageous brownies, so I bet these would be fab as brownies, too.

I didn’t follow the directions exactly. The recipe has you messing up three bowls: one for the melted butter/chocolate, another for whisking the eggs, sugar and vanilla, and another for mixing the flour, baking powder, salt and cocoa. No thanks.

Also, I wanted a much bigger yield than just eighteen cookies. I divided the dough into 36 cookies, half the size called for in the original recipe. And I didn’t have time to chill the dough for an hour, so I portioned the dough on sheets and froze them. Even though the cookies were half the size called for in the original recipe, the cookies looked almost wet after 10 minutes in the oven. Maybe because they were frozen . . . . Anyway, I gave them the full 12 minutes to bake and they were perfect.

The cookies somewhat reminded me of the Chocolate Chocolate Cake Cookies on Baking Bites, even though the recipe for those cookies is totally different. Those cookies are also amazing.

These would be fabulous for Passover if I just swapped out the 1/2 cup of flour with potato starch and or matzoh cake meal . . . .

Ooey-Gooey Double Chocolate Cookies (adapted from LA Times and Milk)
Yield: 3 dozen

Place in a bowl set over a pot of simmering water:
4 ounces of unsweetened chocolate, chopped (I used Callebaut)
2 ounces butter (actually, I used Earth Balance margarine)
Stir the chocolate and butter until melted. Set aside and let cool.

When the chocolate is somewhat cooled, whisk in:
1 cup sugar
3 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla

In another bowl, mix together:
1/2 cup flour
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt (I left this out because Earth Balance margarine is salted)
2 Tablespoons cocoa powder (I used Callebaut Dutch process)
Stir the flour mixture into the chocolate/butter/egg/sugar mixture.

Stir into the cookie batter:
1 pound bittersweet chocolate, chopped into chunks (I used Callebaut 835)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Portion the dough into 36 balls on two greased parchment lined baking sheets and place the sheets in the freezer or refrigerate for 1 hour. Bake the cookies for 10-12 minutes. The edges of the cookies should be just set and the center should be still soft.

Note: I tried shaping the dough into smooth balls before baking and also just plopping down ragged blobs of dough. The shaped balls looked slightly nicer after baking than the rustic blobs.  Also, I ignored the part about greasing the parchment and my cookies stuck just a little. So don’t ignore the part about greasing the parchment!

Note II: The cookies are best freshly baked when they have a thin crust and a soft but light interior. The next day, the cookies are dense and creamy (almost truffle-like) all the way through, and tend to stick together. I think it is best to freeze balls of dough and then bake them as needed.

double chocolate cookies

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Milk’s Ooey-Gooey Double Chocolate Cookies”

  1. Debbie Says:

    I came across your blog after discovering the recipe for Milk’s ooey-gooey cookies. When I looked at the original recipe it says divide the dough into 18 parts. I really wish they said a scoop size! You may not remember but would you know if the ball size would be from a 1/4 scoop? or maybe 2 tablespoons scoop? Any advice would be great!

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      I think the recipe makes about 36 ounces of dough, which means each cookie is made from 2 ounces of dough. So, I would guess that you would need a #16 scoop, which holds 1/4 cup of batter.

      Personally, I prefer making smaller cookies, so I would go with a 2 Tbl. scoop.

      Let me know how it works out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

