Passover Debriefing

I had a lovely time at my sister’s house this Passover. Wonderful food, great company, beautiful seders.

My sister made flourless chocolate cake, mulattoes, and an apple cobbler. The first two recipes were from me, and the apple cobbler recipe was from her MIL. The apple cobbler recipe is basically sliced apples (mixed with sugar, cinnamon, lemon juice and oil) topped with passover crumb cake mix. You put the apples in a 2 quart dish, and then pour over the cake batter, with a final sprinkle of the crumb topping. Instead of getting a tiny little cake, you get a huge apple pie/cake. Really delicious.

My sister doubled the nuts and chocolate chips/chunks in the mulattoes and made them very small. They were chewy and chocolatey and delicious. They tasted better than the last version I made, but my sister claims that they weren’t as good as her last, non-pesadich batch. Well, they were all gone by the time I left.

My sister then made a batch of butter cookies and sweet potato cinnamon cookies.  The butter cookies normally have just the yolks added, but she added in the whites, which made for chewier, moister cookies. Interesting. The sweet potato cookies were interesting, too. My sister was not so crazy about them and would not make them again.

My sister loved the butter cookies as was still eating them after Passover. I gave her the recipe for these, too. These cookies came from Doralee Patinkin’s cookbook (p. 247). Her Passover butter cookies are always a huge, huge hit when I make them. The taste and texture are phenomenal. My sister made them with butter, but they are good made with magarine, even Passover margarine!

Apple Cobbler
Combine and place in 2 qt. dish (9×13 pan):
8 apples, peeled, cored, sliced thick
3/4 cup sugar
1 Tbl lemon juice
cinnamon to taste
1/4 teasp. salt
2 Tbl. oil
Make Passover coffee cake mix, according to directions on box. Top apples with prepared batter from Passover coffee cake mix. Top batter with coffee cake crumble mixture. Bake at 375 degrees for 1 hour. Delicious served warm, but nice at any temperature.

Apple Cobbler
 
8 apples, peeled, cored & thickly sliced
 
3/4 cup sugar
 
1 T. lemon juice
 
Cinnamon to taste
 
1/4 tsp salt
 
2 T. oil
 
1 box Passover coffee cake mix
 
 
Preheat oven to 375. 
 
Combine all the ingredients except cake mix.
 
Arrange in a 2 quart baking dish.
 
Prepare cake mix according to the directions on package.
 
Spoon on top of the apples.
 
Prepare the crumb topping according to the directions and sprinkle on top of batter.
 
Bake 45 minutes to 1 hour at 375

Gluten-Free Cinnamon Pumpkin Cookies
from Chana Rechel Jacobson, Hamodia, 9/10/08
My sister was not so crazy about these cookies, but here is the recipe anyway.
Cinnamon mixture: 3 Tbl. sugar, 1/2 Tbl. cinnamon (1 1/2 teasp.)
Batter:
5 Tbl oil
1/2 cup pumpkin, sweet potato, or butternut squash puree
1/4 teasp. salt
1 cup potato starch
1/2 teasp cinnamon
2 teasp baking powder
Spinkle half the cinnamon mix over two cookies sheets lined with parchment. Combine all the batter ingredients. Spoon out to make 30-48 cookies. Sprinkle over rest of cinnamon mix and bake at375 degrees for 12-15 minutes.

Passover Butter Cookies
adapted from Doralee Patinkin. My sister added in the egg whites and got a moist cookies. Without the whites, they are crisp. My sister also left out the vanilla and salt because I forgot to tell her to add them, and they were still just so, so good.

Beat together until light and fluffy:
4 ounces butter
3/4 cup sugar
1 teasp. vanilla (I forgot to tell my sister to add this ingredient and it was still good)
1/2 teasp. salt (I forgot to tell my sister to add this ingredient and it was still good)

Add:
2 yolks
Add:
1 1/2 cups chopped pecans
Add:
1 cup matzoh cake meal
Form batter into balls or drop from spoon.

Depress in center and brush with:
2 egg whites, beaten
[note: I never do this part. I save the whites for making meringue cookies. This way I get two batches of cookies from 2 eggs, instead of just one batch. But it is up to you. Also, I don't get the depress in the center thing. They look better dropped from a spoon or rolled in balls without the depression. Maybe the original recipe was supposed to have jam spooned in the center? Whatever. Pressing in the dough does nothing for the taste.]
 
Bake the cookies for 15 minutes at 350 degrees or until lightly browned. 
[note: the recipe does not specify a baking temperature.
makes 7-8 dozen cookies.
Tags:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

