Black Bean Burgers

I have made these black bean burgers before (Good Housekeeping). My husband loves that recipe. But I wanted to try this recipe.

IMG_0386_3

In the end, I combined the recipes a little.  I combined 1 can of black beans with cilantro, garlic, scallions, cumin, panko bread crumbs, a bit of mayo and an egg.

The herbs, garlic, and scallions added to the flavor, but were unecessary, I think. I wasn’t so impressed with the panko crumbs. I think regular bread crumbs or fresh bread crumbs are fine.

The egg made the mixture very loose. It made have held together better (after thickening up with bread crumbs), but was soft on the inside. I think that the best tip that I found was to rinse, drain, and dry the beans very well before mashing. This made a very dense mixture. I am going to try to make these burgers again without the egg to see if a gget a denser burger.

In the end, the Good Housekeeping recipe still reigns supreme.

I have an earlier favorite bean burger recipe that I should try again. I think the recipe, Barbecue Bean Burgers,  came originally from Woman’s Day magazine, but I cannot find the recipe on their site. Instead I found a recipe for Asian Bean Burgers, which is almost the same, but has scallions, ground ginger, soy sauce, and garlic instead of 1/4 cup each of minced onion and green pepper.  The Barbecue Bean burgers were also topped with barbecue sauce (1/3 cup) and cheese (1/2 cup) while the burger were still in the skillet. The instructions were to heat the BBQ burgers on low until the cheese melted.

I think the Asian burgers would be awesome, too, but I think I would leave out the ground ginger if I wanted to shift the flavor profile away from Asian. Ithink that the scallions, soy sauce, and garlic could be tilted southwestern with the addition of some chopped cilantro.

Another tip: I think that you can get four burgers for every can of beans (14.5 ounces) that you use. Smaller burgers are a little easier to cook.

update: I made bean burgers for our BBQ. One can of pink beans (rinsed and drained well) mashed with an egg, a half cup of regular dry bread crumbs, and a Tablespoon or so of barbecue sauce makes 2 large burgers. I slathered them with more barbecue sauce, dredged them in panko bread crumbs, placed them on a greased baking sheet, and then sprayed them with cooking spray. Baked at 400 degrees for about a half hour, or until golden, and they were perfect. The bread crumbs were uneccesary, in retrospect, but the slather of barbecue sauce was a great addition. Baking is the best way to make the burgers. They hold their shape the best this way.

IMG_0390

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

