Amazing Mocha Frosting

IMG_0402

Thanks to Zoe (and Carole Bloom), I made an amazing mocha frosting.  I used it to frost Zoe’s Devil’s Food Cake.

Because I only had 6 ounces of trans-fat free margarine, I made 1/2 of the recipe. It was enough to frost a single 8″ round cake, cut in three layers (baked in a 3″ deep pan, with a half recipe of Zoe’s Devil’s Food Cake batter, using 2 eggs instead of 1 1/2 eggs).

Even though I was short a couple of ounces of margarine for the half recipe (and even though I was using margarine instead of butter), the recipe came out great. I added the margarine very very slowly, in little dabs, and the frosting never broke. It never looked “soupy or curdled.” I was smooth from beginning to end. I used a large egg and a large yolk and it was completely fine.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Amazing Mocha Frosting”

  1. justalittlepiece Says:

    I want to use that frosting!!!

    justalittlepiece.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

