Googleberry Pie!

IMG_0464

Well, not really googleberry pie. Really blueberry lime pie. But I kept hearing that googleberry pie song in my head as I was making it.

Inspired by a recipe for Key Lime pie on the Naysoya Silken Creation box, I added lime juice (2 extra large limes, around 6 Tbl.) and some extra cornstarch (2 Tbl.) to Nasoya Silken Creations vanilla and heated it up in a pot until it was really thick. Then the filling went into a graham cracker crust. After scraping out all the lime pudding filling from the pot into the pie shell, I put 2 pints of blueberries and four spoonfuls of blueberry jam into the still warm pot and mixed them up to make the topping.

Result: the pie was bit sweet because there was a bit too much sugar in the premade filling and premade crust. This would be better with from scratch pudding and a homemade crust. But my husband loved it.

The blueberry topping was just right. The blueberries cooked only slightly and tested fresh and the blueberry jam pulled the berries together and made them taste pie-fillnig-ish.

Not to digress, but I really liked the Silken Creations chocolate flavor better than the vanilla. Vanilla is much harder to pull off in a non-dairy format.

IMG_0465

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Googleberry Pie!”

  1. TasteStopping Says:

    I give you credit for toying with a recipe like that. I’m such a stickler for measuring, weighing, following the letter of the law. I am easily flummoxed when I have to come up with substitutions by the seat of my pants. That’s why my husband’s the cook and I’m the baker.

    Anyway, I found you on TasteSpotting and am writing to say that if you have any photos that aren’t accepted there, I’d love to publish them. Visit my new site (below), it’s a lot of fun! I hope you will consider it.

    Best,
    Casey
    Editor
    http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com

  2. Flour Child Says:

    Thanks for your help in my vegan pie quest! I will be sure to try your advice if I can ever actually tear myself away from butter and eggs and milk…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

