Loretta Lynn’s Yeast Bread

IMG_1214

Loretta Lynn has a recipe for yeast bread in You’re Cooking it Country  (p. 78) that I had to try. The recipe produces two huge loaves.

I was very surprised by the bread, though. I expected it to be a homemade version of Wonder Bread. Instead, the aroma was more like that of Italian bread and the crust was light and crisp like Italian bread or kaiser rolls. The interior was light and fluffy like a kaiser roll.

IMG_1222

The crust had these interesting bubbles:

IMG_1217

Overall, I think I would like this bread better made into rolls or long loaves where the amount of crust was maximized in relation to the interior crumb.

The bread just has yeast (plenty: 2 packages to 5 1/2-6 cups of flour), a little bit of oil (4 Tbl.), a little bit of sugar (3 Tbl.), salt, and water (75% hydration?). I used the minimum of flour (actually, I used only about 5 cups), so maybe this bread is a little heavier with more flour (closer to 64 percent hydration?). I also think I undersalted the bread because it was a bit bland. The recipe calls for a teaspoon of salt and I used a rounded  teaspoon of kosher salt. It should have been 2 teaspoons of kosher salt.

I am submitting this to YeastSpotting.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Loretta Lynn’s Yeast Bread”

  1. Mimi Says:

    Wow. that bread is so tall and fluffy! It looks great!

  2. DoughGirl Says:

    That bread loos so soft and fluffy! Any chance you’ll let me know how much water goes into the recipe? I’d love to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

