Princess Cupcakes

Today is National Cupcake Day! (apparently)

I made these quite some time ago, and was too busy to post about them. This was what I originally was going to do as my cake decorating demo for the shul sisterhood brunch. But, it was deemed a bit too complicated given my short time slot, and I went with cake stenciling instead.

I was inspired by The Cookie Shop’s clever princess cupcake post. Paula took a cupcake and cut it into layers.  She then turned it into a miniature princess cake by filling the cupcake layers with whipped cream, pastry cream, and jam. The whole thing was masked in whipped cream and covered in marzipan.

I actually made this recipe twice. The first time, I followed Paula’s instructions for making and cutting up cupcakes. The second time, I tried using slices of pound cake, cut into circles with a cookie cutter. I also made homemade pastry cream the first time, and I used vanilla pudding (from the store) the second time (I was trying to streamline this for the cake demo).  The pound cake and vanilla pudding were quite nice, actually, not to mention lots easier.

This is what the first (homemade cupcake) version looked like on the inside:

And I made some in pink:

My son said they were “yummilicious.”

Take a look at Baking Obsession’s Princess Cake. And Tartelette’s.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Princess Cupcakes”

  1. thecookieshop Says:

    OMG, they look beautiful! You did a great job and I’m so happy someone actually made the recipe – i love the pink one!
    Cheers,
    Paula

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Thanks, Paula. I actually made them shortly after you posted. I was so inspired! I just took a long time to put up my pictures.

  2. Rosa Says:

    So pretty! A delicious dessert!

    Happy Holidays!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. lisamichele Says:

    I’ve always wanted to make a Princess cake, and have plenty of marzipan on hand if the mood strikes. However..mine would never turn out as lovely as yours, and turning it into cupcakes is genius and the perfect little B-Day or tea party treat for a little girl :)

    that said, wishng you and yours a happy and healthy holiday! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

