Goat Milk Yogurt Cheese Balls

I love yogurt cheese, especially drizzled with olive oil and zataar. And goat milk yogurt cheese is amazing . . .

I found this really delicious goat milk yogurt  (Redwood Hill Farm and Creamery) in the supermarket.

I had some of the yogurt with honey and agave syrup drizzled over the top (the honey gets chewy, and the agave syrup stays fluid–both are delicious over the yogurt).

I decided to turn the rest into yogurt cheese. It is very simple to make yogurt cheese, especially if you have a specially designed seive for this purpose. I have one made by Progressive, but I don’t think it is being made anymore.  You can also just use a strainer and some cheesecloth.

Redwood Hill provides instructions for making yogurt cheese on its website. It does not mention refrigeration, but I drain my yogurt in the fridge. After several hours, the yogurt will be thick like greek yogurt, or sour cream. If you drain for a couple of days, the yogurt will get as thick as cream cheese.

You can roll the mixture into balls and let the balls drain on paper towels in the fridge to pull out some more moisture. Then you can store them in olive oil with herbs.

Tags:

7 Responses to “Goat Milk Yogurt Cheese Balls”

  1. Ben Says:

    Oh I love cheese with bread and honey and using agave syrup sounds delicious. Hmm I want some yogurt cheese now.

  2. Lorraine @NotQuiteNigella Says:

    How very clever! I will look out for some goat’s milk yogurt here as it sounds like a fantastic idea! :)

  3. shoshana Says:

    This was my favorite thing to eat for lunch when I was living in Israel. I can’t find it here and until just this minute it had never occurred to me to make my own. I am going to seek out good goats milk yogurt and make this as soon as I can. Thank you so much for the inspiration.

  4. David Bice Says:

    Many thanks for your support of our all-natural goat milk yogurt. And for your inspirational, healthful recipes! From our family farm at Redwood Hill.

  5. Homemade Labneh: Make Low Fat “Cream Cheese” with Yogurt « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    [...] can also use goat milk yogurt to make yogurt cheese, which is known as labneh in the  Middle East. You serve the labne with olive oil and [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

