Moosewood Curried Vegetables with Dahl

I wish I had a better picture of this, but I don’t.

This comes from Moosewood Restaurant Cooks at Home. The recipe is available widely on the internet, but here is the general gist:

You cook red lentils or yellow split peas until tender in a small pot. This is the dahl. Meanwhile, in a large pot, you saute onions, ginger, curry powder, hot pepper, cumin, and sweet potatoes. Then you add water, cauliflower, red or green bell pepper and simmer until tender. Then you add fresh spinach, lemon juice, and the dahl.

It sounds like kind of a pain to make, but it really isn’t.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Moosewood Curried Vegetables with Dahl”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Laura,

    What I did with the veggie pate was very simple. I used a 5 inch by 3 inch stainless steel rectangle cutter and NO saran wrap to line it (used the same cutter for the chili mushroom-cashew pate). I layered 1/2 cup of the pesto on the bottom of each, then froze it for 15 minutes. Then 1/2 cup of the bean paste, frozen for another 15 minutes, then the red pepper layer. I wrapped the whole mold in plastic wrap and chilled it in the fridge overnight. I made another small pate using a circular cutter from the leftover pastes and did the same using 1/4 cup of each. They both slid out easily and smoothly, but within a half hour the pesto and red pepper layers started to ooze lol Thankfully I got the photos before then!

    Speaking of veggies..I LOVE dahl and just so happen to have red lentils on hand. I was going to use them for lentil salad but now I wat dahl It looks so delicious and colorful!!
    Speaking

  2. pragmaticattic Says:

    Thanks Lisa! I was wondering what your secret was . . .
    I still have to make that chili cashew mushroom pate–it sounds awesome.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

