Margo Shalom’s Healthy Breakfast Chocolate Chip Cookies

This healthy cookie recipe is from Marlene’s great blog, The Jewish Hostess. It comes from Margo Shalom.

I made a few changes: I used maple syrup instead of agave syrup (just because I ran out of agave syrup); I added another half cup of oatmeal; and I added some raisins. These were delicious, but I found the taste of the banana to be a bit too prominent for my taste. Still, remarkably tasty for whole-grain-low-fat-and-no-refined-sugar cookies (well, no refined sugar if you use raisins INSTEAD of chips–but I think of chocolate as a health food :)). I would add a bit of salt, though.

Margo warns that you need to refrigerate these cookies, but mine didn’t last long enough to make it to the fridge (hey, it’s a small batch).

Here is another healthy cookie recipe from the archives (a Moosewood recipe . . . ).

Other healthy cookies from The Jewish Hostess:

Healthy Fudge Cookies

Fat-Free Cinnamon Oat Cookies

And here is a similar recipe that also looks good.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Margo Shalom’s Healthy Breakfast Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. MaryMoh Says:

    That’s such a cute chocolate cookie! Looks very tempting. I think I can eat a whole batch :P. Thanks very much for sharing. Happy Holidays!

  2. Xiaolu @ 6 Bittersweets Says:

    These sound delicious! Thanks for sharing these healthier treats :).

  3. Joanne Says:

    Healthy cookies sound perfect especially with my new year’s resolution! Delicious!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

