Mandelbread Thins: Original Flavor

I have blogged about flavor variations on this recipe (also here), but not the original flavor.

Here it is. If you like Almondina cookies, you will love this healthy low-fat recipe.

Mandelbread Thins
This recipe is the result of lots of experimenting with a recipe originally adapted from RecipeCottage

4 ounces egg whites (4 whites, 1/2 cup)
4 ounces sugar (about a full 1/2 cup; if you are using volume measurements, a level half cup is fine)
4 ounces flour (about a scant cup; if you are using volume measurements, a level cup is fine)
4 ounces whole almonds (about 1 cup)
4 ounces raisins (optional, about 1 cup)

Whip the egg whites until frothy on medium speed, increase the speed to medium high and then gradually add the sugar, beating until the whites are stiff and glossy. Fold in the flour, and then the nuts and optional raisins.

Pour the batter into a loaf pan that is lined with parchment (or a silicone loaf pan is ideal). I like to use a pullman loaf pan (13″x4″), but you can also use an 8″x4″ or a 9″x5″ pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Cool the loaf in the pan for ten minutes, and then cool on a rack. Wrap and refrigerate the loaf overnight (about five to eight hours). This resting period is critical to final texture.

Using a long serrated knife, slice the loaf into 1/8″ thick slices. Try to keep the slices as evenly sized as possible. Uneven slices will brown unevenly. Place the slices in a single layer on a parchment lined sheet pan.

Toast the slices in the oven. Toasting at 200 degrees (40-60 minutes) gives the lightest color, basically drying out the cookie without browning it much. This also prevents dried fruit in the cookie from overcooking. Toasting at 275 degrees for 30-45 minutes gives an even golden color and more of a caramelized flavor to cookie and more of a toasted flavor to the nuts. Slices can be toasted at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes–but watch the pan in the oven very carefully–the slices can get too dark very quickly.

Toasted at 275 degrees for 45 minutes

Notes: Toasting at a low temperature prevents the raisins from overcooking, but also works against browning. I think the next time I make these cookies, I will either leave out the raisins or more lightly toast the slices at 200 degrees.

If you have the pullman loaf pan, you can make the above recipe using 6 ounces of all the above ingredients (6 ounces each of egg whites, sugar, flour, nuts). The cookies pictured here were made with 4 ounces of everything in a pullman pan. If you use a smaller loaf pan or if you use 6 ounces of everything in a pullman pan, the cookies will not be as narrow (see here for the shape of the broader cookie).

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Mandelbread Thins: Original Flavor”

  1. loring Says:

    I have two questions. First, is it necessary to sift the flour or does it not matter? Second, do you recommend a serrated knife over a bread knife with a scalloped edge? I have to buy one or the other regardless and I wonder which would be easier for cutting through the nuts and raisins.

  2. loring Says:

    Thank you for the response. I tried your recipe last night but I haven’t sliced and toasted yet.

    FYI, I have never seen the almondina crackers. I found something called “Daelia’s Biscuits for Cheese” which are insanely expensive (at $4.99 for a package of 15, it’s $0.33 per biscuit), so I looked at the ingredients (hazelnuts, wheat flour, sugar, egg whites, and figs, or there is an almond/raisin version) and I started googling which is how I found your recipes. I can’t wait to finish this batch.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Ooh, fig and hazelnut sounds fabulous! Thanks for sharing that idea. Yes, the prepackaged biscuits/cookies can be pricey.

      Please let me know how it comes out–I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I have enjoyed it.

  3. Also . . . . « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    [...] Mandelbread Thins This recipe is a Passover-ized version of this recipe.   It is much lighter in texture than the chometz version. Next time, I think I will up the ground [...]

  4. Esther S White Says:

    I made these yesterday and they came out great! Thanks for the recipe — I can tell it’ll become a family favorite in our house.

  5. ariabelle Says:

    Today I am trying them with freshly milled, soft white flour. I am hoping they turn out! Thanks so much for posting this!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

