Does Anyone Understand the New Google Recipe Search Feature?

Google has just introduced a new feature that allows you to search for just recipes from the Google page, but the recipe pages have to be marked up in a certain way. Does any other food blogger out there understand this?

I e-mailed Elise of Simply Recipes about this issue, and she has sent me a link to a tutorial that she had put up on this topic.

Tags:

7 Responses to “Does Anyone Understand the New Google Recipe Search Feature?”

  1. Rochel @ barefootandcooking Says:

    I think so. I did a lot of research and it appears that you need to have your recipes written into one of two formats (either RDF or hRecipe). I also use WordPress and found a free plugin called hRecipe which you should be able to use to make sure the results show up in google’s new recipe search. I played around with it tonight and it’s extremely easy to use and actually has some nice formatting features.

    I just started using it tonight and it looks like it’ll take some time to appear as Google is rolling out the new search feature slowly to prevent glitches.

    I’m definitely not an expert; but, I did find out a little more info if you want or need. Just send me an email. I don’t want to leave a long useless comment.

  2. pragmaticattic Says:

    Thanks so much, Rochel!!

  3. akismet-789eea73bf51dddca26e88609f3f7d5a Says:

    So sorry. Hopefully either wordpress or google will come out with a fix. one of the articles I read mentioned that google is trying to find a way to expand its search features.

  4. Rochel @ barefootandcooking Says:

    So sorry. Hopefully google will have a fix soon. One of the articles I read said they are working on expanding it.

  5. Lauren Says:

    Oh my. I’m too much of a Luddite for this. It sounds fabulous but a bit over my head. :-)

  6. Denise Says:

    I hadn’t even heard of this. I’ll have to check it out. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

