I Heart Carine Goren’s Challah

Based on the recommendations of others (Chavi and Dvora), I gave Carine Goren’s challah (also see here for Miri’s version)  a try.  It is not an especially egg-rich dough, but the flavor is excellent.

The  secret to the  super shiny crust? I gave the loaves two coats of egg wash and let the egg wash dry between coats.

The recipe is supposed to make two loaves, but I made three–one four strand and two five strands.

My Take on Carine Goren’s Challah

1 kilo flour (I used bread instead of all-purpose–maybe that is why I needed more water?)
17 g active dry yeast or 50 g fresh yeast (I used 2 Tbl., but Chavi recommends 2 1/2, which I would try next time)
3/4 cup sugar (1/2 cup plus 2 Tbl. for less sweet (Chavi’s amount), or a full cup for American style sweet (Dvora’s amount)–I went with 2/3 cup and felt the resulting bread was on the fence between sweet enough and not sweet enough. My husband dislikes very sweet, so this amount was perfect for his tastes)
2 eggs
1/2 cup oil
1 Tbl salt (I used almost 2 Tbl. of Diamond kosher salt because it is fluffier than table salt and you need to use more to compensate)
1 1/2 to 2 cups water (Chavi uses 1 3/4 cups, and Dvora uses about 1 1/2 cups, I ended up using 2 1/4 cups because I like a really wet dough)

The recipe calls for mixing the sugar, yeast, flour, and salt, and then adding in the eggs, oil, and 1 1/4 cups of the water. You mix and add more water as needed to make a dough that isn’t too sticky. The idea is that you adjust the dough by adding more water, not by adding more flour, so you go from drier to wetter until the texture is just right. The dough should be slightly tacky.

After you have the texture just right, mix or knead the dough.

After kneading the dough, let it rise until doubled. You can proceed to shaping the loaves, or you can fold over the dough a few times and let it rise again until doubled. The folding and additional rising time help develop the dough, but is not critical.

Shape the dough into two loaves (or more, you can get three medium loaves), and let them rise until doubled. Glaze with beaten egg, let the glaze dry, glaze again, and then bake at 350 degrees for about a half hour (I baked at 375 degrees, which gave me a nice dark crust, the way I like it, but I think I should have pulled them out sooner because they could have been a tad moister).

Sending this to Yeastspotting.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “I Heart Carine Goren’s Challah”

  1. Rivki Locker (Ordinary Blogger) Says:

    This recipe looks almost exactly like mine, and I also use that double-egg trick! Mine calls for 3 eggs per kilo, and I like to use half honey/half sugar for a richer sweetness. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Chavi Samet Says:

    So glad that you decided to try the recipe and were won over! They are gorgeous and have such great color! It seems to me that even though I’ve succeeded in my challah mission.. I can’t stop experimenting..

  3. lisamichele Says:

    Even though I feel my grandma’s challah recipe is the best (for my taste), I’m always open to all other challah recipes because it’s my favorite bread in the world. Your loaves look amazing, and if you say it’s good, by all means..I know it’s good! I will definitely file this one away :)

  4. Lauren Says:

    Looks delicious! Great tip for two coats of egg wash–I’d never heard that before.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

