Baklava!

The Daring Bakers are doing baklava this month:

Erica of Erica’s Edibles was our host for the Daring Baker’s June challenge. Erica challenged us to be truly DARING by making homemade phyllo dough and then to use that homemade dough to make Baklava.

Erica picked homemade phyllo (filo), using the same recipe that Daring Bakers used for making homemade strudel quite some time ago. She offered a recipe by Alton Brown for the Baklava, but allowed free reign in choosing a recipe.

I made baklava using this roll technique, plus I made some cigars (some plain, following instructions in Pamela Grau Tweena’s The Sephardic Table, and some ruffled the same way as the baklava rolls).

I also made chocolate filo triangles, using a recipe from Emily Luchetti, and Susie Fishbein’s Baklava Bites from Kosher by Design Lightens Up.

For the syrup, I made a honey/sugar syrup and then a sugar syrup with lemon and vanilla.

5 Responses to “Baklava!”

  1. Lauren Says:

    I adore baklava, but I always get it from our local middle-eastern restaurant (now I’m going to be craving that for lunch) because it always sounds like so much work. I would have never thought to make it as a roll! Did the homemade phyllo take a lot of space? I have just enough room to roll out a pie crust on my counter (if I clear everything off of it).

  2. Couldn't Be Parve Says:

    This looks amazing! Now I am craving baklava, I’m going to have to make some soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

