Pesto Tilapia

This fish got attacked straight from the oven, so I didn’t have a whole piece left for a photo.

A very easy dish, especially if you have pesto already made. Just spread pesto on the fish (about 1 Tbl. per fillet) and bake at 450 degrees for 15 minutes or so. About halfway through baking, sprinkle over some Parmesan cheese (about a Tbl. or so per fillet) and continue baking until the top is golden and the fish flakes easily. I tried added some chopped sun-dried tomatoes, but they burn pretty easily. If you want to add the sun-dried tomatoes, add them towards the end of baking.

I made Melissa Clark’s pesto from the NYT (1/2 cup toasted pignoli nuts, 4 ounces basil, 3/4 cup olive oil, 2-3 garlic cloves, 1/2 tsp. salt). I froze a batch, then cut it up in cubes. Whenever I need a bit of pesto for a recipe, I pull a cube or so from the container in the freezer.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Pesto Tilapia”

  1. Rivki Locker Says:

    I’m so happy to hear that my family isn’t the only one that attacks food! :)
    I always have basil on hand – I make it at least once a week – so this recipe will be a breeze. Thanks!

  2. Leora Says:

    Attack of the fish eaters?

    Sounds yummy.

  3. ilanadavita Says:

    This looks and sounds excellent.

  4. Lauren Says:

    I love pesto! Homemade is always the best, too. I’ve never gotten around to freezing it (too lazy!), but that’s such a good idea.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

