Archive for September 14th, 2011

Rosh Hashana Menu (Last Year’s)

September 14, 2011

These are my notes for one of my holiday menus from 2010. I can’t believe I made this much food for one meal. Maybe it was for more than one meal . . . .

Smoked Paprika Roasted Salmon

leaf salad

quinoa salad

beet salad

black eyed peas salad

Israeli Couscous salad with roasted tomato and olives

Turkey Roast
Ina’s butternut squash and tzimmes
cranberry applesauce
potato kugel
Armenian pilaf
spinach red pepper tart

Honey Cake
Chocolate Applesauce Cake
Crumb Topped Plum Cake (I have no idea why this recipe isn’t on my blog. It was so good.)

This is my mom’s menu from 2008:

Rosh Ha Shana Menu

baked gefilte fish and salmon

meatballs

turkey roast

brisket and gravied potatoes

orange chicken

honey carrot coins

roasted cauliflower / asparagus / roasted winter vegetables

salad with crunch

corn salad (Gatherings)

plum cake

rum raisin balls

pareve cheesecake or tiramisu

Heads Up on Upcoming Parsha Cake

September 14, 2011

I have been asked to post parsha cake ideas a little earlier in the week.

Right now, I am thinking about making a fruit basket cake.

Like this cake from Taste of Home, which is pretty easy because it is just frosted cake with wafer cookies pressed into the sides for the basket part and fruit on top for the fruit part.

But, I may do something else.

Like this cake with a piped basket weave.

Or maybe I will just make marzipan fruit and a marzipan basket (kind of like an edible play-do project with the kids)/

I don’t know yet.

Midrash Manicures

September 14, 2011

Have you seen this?

There is a blog which posts pictures of manicures tied in to the parsha. For Ki Tavo, one hand has a manicure with images of a city skyline and the other hand has a country themed manicure.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers