Kosher Samurai’s Leek and Potato Soup

My children had just learned about leeks and were very excited to see two large bunches in the kitchen. They had been told that it was used for making leek and potato soup, and they really wanted me to make that.

I just needed one bunch for my Rosh Hashana leek fritters, so I agreed to use the remaining bunch for soup. After a quick Google search, I settled on a recipe from the fairly new blog, Kosher Samurai.

It was easy, it was delicious, it was polished off in no time. The taste is rather like potato kugel. And I mean that in the best possible way.

Kosher Samurai says that this tried and true recipe also freezes perfectly–just thaw overnight in the fridge and reheat gently over a low flame.

And the recipe is easy to remember: 1 onion, 2 cloves garlic, 3 leeks, 4 potatoes, and 5 cups broth. Easy as 1, 2, 3, 4, 5!

Potato Kugel-esque Leek and Potato Soup
Adapted from Kosher Samurai

enough oil, butter or margarine to saute the onions (I used about 2 Tbl. olive oil)
1 onion, chopped fine or sliced thinly
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 leeks, cleaned well and sliced thinly
4 potatoes, peeled and chopped fine or sliced thinly
4-5 cups broth
white pepper
salt, pepper
pinch nutmeg (the original recipe doesn’t call for this, but I added it)
optional: chopped chives and dairy or pareve sour cream for garnish (I skipped)

In a large  pot, sauté the onions, leeks and garlic until tender. Add the potatoes to the pot and cook them just a bit before adding the broth (or water to which you add salt). Season the broth or water with salt, white pepper, black pepper and a pinch of nutmeg. Simmer until the potatoes are tender. (I actually simmered the vegetables with only 4 cups of liquid and added the extra cup of liquid after pureeing the soup.)

Cool the soup until just warm. Puree the soup in a food processor until smooth and creamy. Add liquid as necessary to adjust viscosity. Adjust seasoning and reheat gently. Can stir in something creamy, like sour cream or cream (I skipped) and garnish with chives (I garnished with some sauteed leeks).

(For a thicker soup, use 5 potatoes and 4 cups broth, but I thought the soup was pretty thick with four potatoes and 5 cups broth)

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Kosher Samurai’s Leek and Potato Soup”

  1. Rivki Locker Says:

    I have a bunch of leeks waiting to be used. Maybe I’ll try this! Thanks for sharing. Shana Tova!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

