Chanukah Recipes

If you are still mulling over what to make for an upcoming party, I have some ideas for you. Below is a list of some of my favorite recipes and a round-up of what other kosher bloggers have posted this year.

Of course you will want latkes: traditional potato, zucchini, and also sweet potato.

I like to serve dairy. Lots of dairy. Every year, I make macaroni and cheese for Chanukah (post from last year about macaroni and cheese, and the post from the year before, with more exposition on this topic and a discussion of the tradition of serving dairy). It sounds pedestrian, I know, but everyone loves macaroni and cheese, and this version is particularly good.

I like to serve the macaroni with vegetarian chili and yellow rice, plus the latkes, of course, and various salads.

A nice appetizer is whipped feta dip, Kopanisti.

A different way to add feta into the menu is this over-the-top salad with honey mustard dressing, walnuts, golden raisins, sunflower seeds, alfalfa sprouts and avocado. My mother made this salad one year for the Chanukah party, and it was a big hit.

For dessert:

Sufganiyot, traditional yeast and a short cut version
Cake Pops
Cookies
Rugelach (I will hopefully post these soon)

Here is what else is being served up for the holiday on kosher blogs (latkes made with sweet potato or squash and baked latkes were a big theme this year):

Other Round-Ups and General Party and Menu Ideas:
Me-ander has a list of Chanukah link
s, including a video for making latkes and menu ideas (which include chocolate sufganiyot)
Fun Party Ideas for Kids from Jennifer in Mamaland
Chanukah Menus from TheCookingChannel
Decorating Ideas, parts one and two, from Around the Dinner Table

Latkes:
Latkes for a Crowd (for 35-40 people!) from Bamitbach
Applesauce and Latkes from Oh, You Cook
Cheese Latkes with Raspberry Sauce
from Busy in Brooklyn
Sweet Potato Latkes from YumKosher
Spicy Squash Latkes from Granoladox
Baked Sweet Potato Latkes from My Healthy Kosher Kitchen
Baked Butternut Squash Latkes and Oven Baked Potato Latke Cups from Classically Kosher
Baked Latkes from Miriyummy
Apple-Potato Latkes with Drunken Cherry Liver Pate from Park East Kosher
Dixie Corn Dollar with Honey Mustard Sauce from TheCookingChannel

Sufganiyot:
Vanilla Glazed Cinnamon Spice Doughnuts from More Quiche Please
Sufganiyot, and Baked Doughnut Muffins from YumKosher
Chocolate Caramel Doughnuts CookKosher
Apricot Plum Baked Doughnuts
from Kitchen Tested
Sfenj, Moroccan Doughnuts from Cafe Liz
Bunelos, fried pareve “cheese” balls
from Couldn’t be Pareve

Cookies:
Chanukah Style Peanut Butter Blossoms from Tales of an Overtime Cook
Gingerbread Draidels at Balaboosteh

Not Latkes, Sufganiyot or Cookies:
Mini Pudding Crunch Trifles at the Jewish Hostess
Traditional Sephardic Fried Fish and Chips from Sephardic Food
Salad Dressings with Olive Oil from Here in Highland Park

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Chanukah Recipes”

  1. overtimecook Says:

    Excellent roundup! I will have to try some of these recipes! Thanks for the link. :)

  2. Tali Simon @ More Quiche, Please Says:

    Great Chanukah resource! Thanks for including me.

  3. Leora Says:

    Thanks for the link. Since I don’t eat dairy, I hunt around for pareve recipes to serve with the latkes. I liked your simple chili recipe.

    I’m thinking of making a pareve sheperd’s pie (I think it’s in one of the Moosewood Restaurant cookbooks).

  4. Lisa Says:

    I love this round-up, especially since my brain is mush right now! The Sufganiyot is a definite, as are the latkes (that cheese latke looks interesting!), I wish I had made rugelach instead of the underbaked Chistmas morning coffee cake (now trying to cover all holidays on my blog come holiday time lol). that ‘shlumped’. In any event…wishing you and yurs a wonderful and Happy Hanukkah!!

  5. Review with Candle Lighting - Here in Highland Park Says:

    [...] Attic: Chanukah recipes and a parsha post – why three [...]

  6. Irene Says:

    I am finally getting to read my blogs. Thanks for including me! Happy New Year!!

    irene

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

