Archive for May 17th, 2012

Spinach, Corn and Roasted Red Pepper Enchiladas (dairy, but convertible to lactose-free)

May 17, 2012

I think about you, dear readers, I really do. So, when I made these very dairy enchiladas, I thought about those of you who are lactose-intolerant. The recipe calls for eight tortillas and I had a package of ten. With the extra tortillas, I also made some lactose-free enchiladas.

It was an excellent experiment. Crumbled tofu is a perfect substitute for the small amount of cottage cheese in the recipe, and the enchiladas taste fine topped with plain sauce and no cheese. Although, if you wanted to have “cheese” on top, I noticed an interesting product in the local health food store: Daiya cheese style shreds. They are OU pareve. I haven’t tried this product yet (If you have, let me know if you like it).

So make the dairy version offered below, or convert it to lactose-free–your choice.

dairy-free broccoli, corn and red pepper enchiladas with tofu

This recipe is adapted from Simple Vegetarian Pleasures by Jeanne Lemlin. It is similar to a recipe I was given several years ago (and posted about here), except that recipe was a lot cheesier. That recipe always came out like lasagna, which was yummy in its own way. This is a little lighter.

Jeanne Lemlin has at least two other enchilada recipes that sound good and easy: mushroom and bean enchiladas and these zucchini bean enchiladas.

If you are thinking about dairy menus right now, I like to serve a Mexican themed meal, with salad, chili, yellow rice, guacamole, taco shells, some salmon and pasta or enchiladas.

(more…)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers