Tahina Maple Oatmeal Chip Cookies

smalltahinacookieCtext

These cookies are gluten free (provided, of course, that you use rolled oats that are certified gluten free). You can leave out the rolled oats (old fashioned oats) if you prefer or replace them with chopped walnuts.

The inspiration for these cookies was stuff I had left in my pantry before Passover that needed using up. I had finally used up all my flour and then realized that I had meant to use up my tahina in a cookie recipe. All I had left was a small amount of old fashioned oats.

My tahina cookies would have to be flourless, I realized. The classic flourless peanut butter cookie recipe was the perfect template for my flourless tahina cookies. Instead of sugar, I decided to use up some maple syrup. I added in the oats and the remains of  an open bag of mocha chips.

I spooned the cookies on a lined baking sheet, baked them at 350 degrees and hoped for the best.  I pulled them out from the oven, let them cool and then tasted one. They came out! They were good! That was a relief.

The cookies taste like a cross between peanut butter cookies and halvah. I you like halvah, you will love these cookies.

 

Tahina Maple Oatmeal Chip Cookies

Combine everything in a mixing bowl:
6 ounces tahina
4 ounces rolled oats–old fashioned oats (about 1 1/3 cups)
4 ounces maple syrup
1 egg
1-2 cups chocolate chips, optional (or can use walnuts)

Spoon batter onto lined and lightly greased baking sheets. Bake cookies at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Let cool completely before removing from baking sheet.

Yields 2 dozen cookies.

Note: I have also added chopped up halvah to the cookie dough, which is very good, but very rich.

The Kosher Connection, an informal group of creative kosher food bloggers from all around the world, proudly present our monthly kosher recipe challenge.  Each month we will present you with recipes on a different theme from all the kosher food bloggers.

This month is Chametzfest!

 

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Tahina Maple Oatmeal Chip Cookies”

  1. Chanie@BusyInBrooklyn Says:

    I’ve always wanted to incorporate tahini into baked goods, this sounds like a great start.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

