Granola

In my quest for perfect granola, I have tried another recipe. I mostly followed the recipe from The Traveler’s Lunchbox. I used only 3/4 cup of dark brown sugar and added 1/4 cup of maple syrup. I also replaced the butter with oil and left out the mace. It was good, though not as ethereal as I had been expecting.

The cardamom gave the granola a very interesting flavor and made my house smell like a health food store. I”m not sure whether I would go with the cardamom flavor again. It is, perhaps, a bit too esoteric tasting.

I think I cooked it too long and let it get just a hint too brown. The recipe called for baking it about 1 hour to 1 1/2 hours. At an hour, I think it was done. I let it go another 15 minutes.

I also made a salad dressing with amaranth seeds. I bought the seeds and then found out that amaranth makes a very gummy pilaf. I knew there was a reason I hadn’t bought it before! Anyway, the bag says that you can make a dressing with it. That’s good, because amaranth is actually very healthy. I followed the instructions on the bag and made a dressing with the seeds, soy sauce, and oil. I also added in some balsamic vinegar. The recipe is supposed to sit overnight, but I tried it right away. It looked very interesting over a beefsteak tomato and pepper salad. Kind of like a uber-healthy poppy seed dressing. We will see what the dressing is like tomorrow.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

