Fascinating Theory Sad Reality, Round Two

According to Jessica Seinfeld, you can make tofu cubes taste like chicken or cheese by dipping them in a pureed vegetables and egg mixture, breading them, and then frying them until crispy. Seinfeld posits, moreover, that children will happily scarf these nuggets down. This is a variation on a chicken nugget recipe that is also in the book.

Hmm . . . . Fascinating theory, but the reality?

To be fair, I didn’t really completely follow the recipe. I looked at the detailed instructions for steaming and pureeing vegetables and decided it was code for “just buy baby food.” I combined a small jar of peas with an egg and coated small tofu cubes with the green mush. Then I breaded the cubes in fresh crumbs made from my whole wheat challah. Instead of frying the nuggets, I heavily sprayed them with Pam and baked them in the toaster oven. I used the convection feature, set at 425 degrees, and baked them about a half hour, until they were brown and crispy.

My son just looked at them and said, “What are these, Mommy?”
“Ummmm, they are veggie-chicky nuggets,” I replied brightly (if somewhat evasively).
“But, what is in them, Mommy?”
“Uh, tofu,” I said, utterly trapped (and unwilling to flat-out lie).
“No thank you, Mommy.”

Defeat. Absolute and complete and utter defeat.

So I ate them. Not bad, but not great.

Conclusion: Fascinating theory, but not so great reality. Tofu does not become magically yummy to children just because it has been breaded and browned and looks like chicken nuggets.

Take a look at Jaden’s ideas on getting kids to eat their veggies.

Leave a Reply

