Pareve Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Smitten Kitchen’s Mom’s Sour Cream Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake was just calling out to me . . . .

So I made it. But, I made it pareve. Except I didn’t have enough pareve Tofutti “sour cream” because I used most of what I had on a really vile cake that I just do not want to talk about. So I used vanilla soy milk in addition to the leftover Tofutti. Instead of butter, I used Earth Balance shortening.

Here’s the thing: butter and real sour cream just taste better. But, the cake came out well. I was a little perturbed that the chips sank so low.

If I make the cake again, here is what I would do differently:

(1) Use real dairy ingredients, or just use soy milk and vegetable oil and not bother with shortening and Tofutti.
(2) Put a thicker layer of batter on the bottom of the pan before layering on the cinnamon sugar and chips.
(3) Skip the instructions to whip the egg whites separately.

I really want to try a sour cream coffee cake recipe that I saw in Carrie Levin’s breakfast cookbook. The recipe is pretty similar, but has triple the butter and does not involve separating the eggs. Also, there is a crumb topping involved. Levin says she adapted the recipe from a Massachusetts B&B, and this might be the inspiration recipe.

For pareve, I have been happy with Marcy Goldman’s recipe for cinnamon chip coffee cake that uses oil and orange juice. I used soy milk last time I made it, and it was the best ever. The recipe is pretty close to the sour cream cake, but is a lot easier because there is no creaming butter or whipping egg whites. Plus, if you use chocolate chips instead of butterscotch chips in the filling, it is pareve without resorting to odd “faux” ingredients. Another thing that is smart about the recipe is that it calls for adding just one layer of filling on top and then drizzling over just a few tablespoons of batter. The filling sinks in as it bakes, leaving behind some topping on top. This gives the effect of two layers of filling without actually making two layers. And the filling does not sink to the bottom.

Leave a Reply

