Chocolate Cupcakes and More Soup

I needed an easy dessert. Scrolling through the dessert section of Leite’s Culinaria, I settled upon these chocolate cupcakes. I used Callebaut Dutch process cocoa instead of Hershey’s natural cocoa, and I used only 3/4 cup of mayo. They were excellent. DH rates them an 8, but only because the tops got sticky when they cooled. I did not make the frosting recipe. I suppose I could just substitute oil for the mayo if I was making these for the mayo-phobes I know.

DH rated the Armenian apricot and red lentil soup a 6 or 7, because he found the slight sweetness slightly off-putting. He and DS prefer split pea soup. I made a pot with lots of garlic and a pinch of poultry seasoning that had the house smelling like I just roasted a chicken.

Split Pea Soup

1 pound split peas
handful of barley, optional
1-2 carrots, finely chopped
2 onions, chopped
2-4 cloves garlic, crushed
1 Tbl. salt, or more to taste
1-2 stalks celery, plus celery leaves, finely chopped
pinch poultry seasoning
1/4 tsp.  pepper, or more to taste

Combine all ingredients in a large pot with 8 cups of water and cook until mushy, about 2 hours. Adjust seasoning and add more water as needed to adjust thickness.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

