Mexican Cornbread Casserole

Mexican Cornbread Casserole

Looking through a book called The Six O’Clock Scramble, by Aviva Goldfarb, I saw a recipe that would be ideal for dinner.  Mexican Cornbread Casserole called for ingredients I had in the house, was easy enough for my child to make, and would be ready in an hour. My little one mixed all the ingredients together, we poured it into a casserole pan and popped it in the oven. An hour later, we ate.

My husband loved it and had seconds. My son proceeded to pick out all the beans–the healthy part of the dish– carefully separating them from their rich casing of cheddar cheese, sour cream, and corn. He then ate the beans and discarded the cheesy stuff. Hmm, I thought, I didn’t see that one coming. Then I remembered that he doesn’t like corn. Oops.

I thought the recipe was a tad richer than it had to be, with a whopping amount of sour cream that I would probably switch out next time for fat-free yogurt. I also think the butter can be reduced or replaced with oil. I left out the salsa and served it on the side, which I think was the right choice.

As a side note, Aviva Goldfarb has an interesting story. She has a meal planning website, called thescramble.com.

img_0075

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

