Marble Chiffon Cake

img_0150

I love, love, love, love marble chiffon. The ultimate marble chiffon is fluffy, moist vanilla cake with ribbons of viscous chocolate running through. Kind of like fudge ripple ice cream. The bakeries use something called liquid marble to create the swirls of chocolate, I think.

 

The Taste of Home Cookbookhas a recipe that is fantastic: a moist, light, supple cake. It is not online, but the magazine website has a recipe that is fairly similar. The cookbook version (from LuAnn Heikkila) is different in the following ways from the online recipe (from Sharon Evans):

2 cups of flour instead of 2 1/4;
the chocolate mixture is 2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, melted with 1/4 cup hot water and 1/4 cup sugar instead of 1/3 cup cocoa mixed with 1/4 cup hot water, 3 Tablespoon sugar, and 2 Tablespoons oil;
2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda instead of 1 Tablespoon baking powder;
2 teaspoons vanilla instead of 2 teaspoons orange zest;
the baking time time is 60-65 minutes instead of 70-75 minutes;
the recommended glaze is chocolate instead of orange-flavored.

img_0149

I didn’t bother with the glaze. I found that the batter got a bit lumpy when I followed the direction to add the liquid mixture all at once to the dry ingredients. Next time, I will add the flour mixture in thirds to the liquid ingredients or I will add the liquid ingredients to a well in the center of the dry ingredients and gradually work it in. I cannot imagine how this recipe could need 70-75 minutes baking time–my cake was done in about an hour. I also can’t imagine how it could use an extra 1/4 cup of flour. But, the recipe from Sharon Evans won a blue ribbon, so what do I know.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Marble Chiffon Cake”

  1. Leora Says:

    This looks very light – and has the proper swirling! I see it’s 7 eggs separated. That would do it.

    Thanks for commenting on my mabul cake.

Leave a Reply

