Black Bean Tortillas

black bean tortillas

I have been meaning to make the Crispy Rolled Tortillas with Black Bean Filling from The  Six O’Clock Scramble cookbook. So, when my husband said that he wanted something different for dinner, I suggested that recipe. Well, I was thinking Chinese, but OK, my husband reluctantly agreed.

Then, I saw that I was missing some key ingredients. So, I improvised.

This was the result:

Black Bean Tortillas
inspired by the recipe for Crispy Rolled Tortillas with Black Bean filling from The Six O’Clock Scramble

Saute in a medium skillet until translucent:
1 onion, finely chopped
1 large clove garlic, minced
2 Tablespoon olive oil

Add to the sauteed onions and garlic:
1 14.5 ounce can pinto beans, drained, rinsed, drained, and mashed
1 14.5 ounce can black beans, drained, rinsed, drained

Divide the mixture, spooning it in a line down the center of:
4-6 flour tortillas (I used fajita size, because that is what I had, but smaller tortillas would have let me make more than just the five roll-ups I was able to get with this amount of filling)

Spoon over the top of each line of bean filling a spoonful of canned diced tomatoes with jalapeno (or salsa would have been good, too) and sprinkle over some grated cheddar. Roll up the tortillas and place them side by side in a casserole dish. Bake the tortillas in a 400 degree oven until brown and crispy, about 10-15 minutes. Serve with salsa and low-fat sour cream.

Serves 4

My husband loved these tortillas, and I did too (although I would have liked more bean filling in relation to tortilla). My son ate a little of the tortilla, but mostly picked out and ate the black beans. He resented having to work so hard to extract the black beans from everything else: “I don’t like this,” he said. “It’s too messy!”

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

