Vegetarian Mexican, Again

“Another home run,” my husband said. “Straight to the blog!”

Okay. So he liked what I made for dinner. The problem is that I’m not sure what to call what I made. I was going to  use vegetarian “ground beef” to make a veggie version of the Pasta alla Malboro Man from Pioneer Woman, and then I was going to make veggie sloppy Joes. In the end, I kind of made something in between  and served it with brown rice, guacamole, salsa, and tortilla chips. It was good, whatever it should be called.

I’m still not a huge fan of fake ground beef because it is so highly processed (and kind of tastes like it), but this was good and pleased my husband.

Oh, and, oops! We were so hungry I forgot to take a picture. Oh, well.

Vegetarian Sort of Sloppy Joes Sort of Nachos or Tostadas “Home Run”

Saute in large saucepan or Dutch oven until tender and starting to brown:
4 Tablespoon olive oil
2 onions
, chopped

Add and cook 1 minute more:
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 carrots minced

Add and heat for a few seconds:
1 Tablespoon cumin
1 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/8-1/4 teaspoon ancho chili powder

Crumble in and cook for 1 minute:
1 package vegetarian “ground beef” (a little less than 1 pound)Dump in:
14.5 ounce can fire-roasted diced tomatoes with garlic (or other tomatoes, I suppose)
1/4 cup of ketchup
, or to taste

 

 Simmer for an hour and then put on low until husband comes home. (This means cooking a long time because my husband has a long commute. Your mileage may vary.)

Serve with brown rice, guacamole, tortilla chips, and salsa. Sour cream and shredded cheddar optional (rejected by my husband outright).

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

