Pumpkin Bisque with Curry and Pear

After a very trying culinary experience yesterday (a recipe that took 2 days to make and my husband didn’t even like it!), I made a recipe that has it all: easy, exotic, sophisticated, delicious, easily made with pantry ingredients, and, oh, did I mention super easy?

img_0258

Pumpkin Bisque with Curry and Pear comes from Hip Kosher by Ronnie Fein.

I adapted the recipe somewhat. Follow the above link for the original recipe. Below is how I made it. I increased the creaminess by using twice the coconut milk and adding in some soy milk instead of vegetable stock. I also upped the coconut factor by using coconut oil instead of butter or vegetable oil.

img_02551

Mostly I doubled the amount of coconut milk because I wanted to use up the can. If I doubled the whole recipe, I would go back to the original proportion of 1 cup coconut milk per 15 ounces of pumpkin. I would also try this recipe with soy milk, which Ronnie Fein says is good, too.

I wonder how this would taste with more pear, maybe even roasted pear. The recipe calls for sauteing the onion and then dumping in all the rest of the ingredients. I sauteed the pears and warmed the spices before adding the pumpkin and liquid. I don’t know if that made any difference in flavor. I used anjou and bosc. I think bosc is a bit grittier than anjou and bartlett. I detected a slight graininess in the finished soup from the pear. Maybe I should have just used anjou.

img_0254

Pumpkin Bisque with Curry and Pear
(adapted from Hip Kosher, Ronnie Fein)

Heat in a saucepan:
2 Tablespoon coconut oil (original recipe gave choice of butter or vegetable oil)

Add and cook 2-3 minutes, until softened:
1 onion, chopped

Add and cook gently for 30 seconds to warm spices and coat pear with oil:
2 pears, peeled, cored, and diced(I used one bosc and one anjou)
1 1/2 teaspoons curry powder
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
(actually, I used ancho chili powder)
pinch cinnamon
pinch salt

Add and bring to a simmer:
15 ounce can pure pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie mix)
5 cups liquid (original recipe called for 4 cups vegetable or chicken broth, 1 cup coconut or soy milk; I used 2 cups coconut milk, 1 cup soy milk and 2 cups water and some more salt–I think this recipe will work with any combination)

Simmer soup for 25 minutes and then puree. Adjust seasonings, adding salt as necessary.

garnish soup with 2 tablespoons chopped chives or 1/4 cup toasted coconut ( I found that the toasted coconut brought forward the coconut flavor even more and added some texture, too)

Note: I loved this soup, but the pear flavor gets a bit lost. I think that roasted pears might be an interesting garnish, along with toasted coconut and bring forward that flavor.

Yield: 4 to 6 servings

img_0256

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

