Vegetable Frittata with Salsa

I was paging through the cookbook Cuisine of California, by Diane Rossen Worthington and I came across this vegetable frittata recipe. I suggested it for dinner, but my husband was leery of trying something new.

“I just want comfort food,” he objected. “Comfort food,” I have found, is my husband’s favorite euphmism for “food I don’t have to pretend to like.”

“I think you will like it,”  I said.

“Mmph,” my husband replied. “I just want a plain omelet with cheese and zucchini.”

“OK. Fine”

So this is what I made:

Vegetable Frittatasaute until golden:
1 thinly sliced zucchini
2 Tablespoons olive oil

 

Season the vegetables with salt.

Whisk until foamy, and then pour over the zucchini:
4 large eggs

Sprinkle over a handful of shredded cheddar. As the eggs set on bottom, lift up the set egg and let the uncooked egg run underneath to cook. When the egg is set, fold it over and let it rest in the pan for 1-2 minutes. Serve the eggs with salsa and sour cream on the side.

My husband loved this. He grumbled about the salsa and the sour cream, but was thoroughly won over after trying it. He insists that this is a five star dish to add to the regular rotation.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

