Adjustable Heat Kid Friendly Chili

My son loves beans, and they are good for him, but he is not keen on anything “spicy.” So, when I made chili tonight, I made it very, very mild, and made some “mix-in” for me and my husband that would amp up the flavor for us. My son had two or three servings and said it was the “best meal he ever had.”

The recipe is loosely based on a recipe from a “best recipe” book on soups and stews. Very loosely based. I think the editors of that cookbook would be annoyed if I gave them “credit” (blame?) for my version. But it was deemed a “keeper” recipe. Next time, I want to try a little lime and cilantro.

Ajustable Heat Vegetarian Chili
Saute until starting to brown:
1 large onion, chopped
Add and cook for 1 minute:
4-6 cloves garlic, minced
Add and stir 30 seconds:
1 Tbl. cumin
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon oregano
Add:
28 ounces crushed tomatoes
Add:
1 can rinsed and drained black beans ( 1 1/2 cups cooked beans)
1 can rinsed and drained pinto beans ( 1 1/2 cups cooked beans)
1/2 can canned corn (1 cup)
Simmer until hot. I made yoghurt cheese and served this on the side. To up the spiciness, I made spicy tempeh and mixed in crumbled pieces into servings for me and my husband. You could serve this with salsa, too, to provide more spiciness adjustability. The inspiration recipe called for adding in some lime juice and cilantro, but I just didn’t have any.

Spicy Tempeh
1 package tempeh, sliced in four pieces crosswise and then each piece sliced in half to get eight thin slices
Marinate tempeh in the following mixture for a few hours:
1/4 cup oil
2 minced cloves garlic
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon salt
1 chipotle pepper (canned in adobo sauce–Roland brand is kosher, star-k), chopped
Sear the tempeh in a hot non-stick skillet for 8 minutes per side, or until crisp and golden.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

