Sour Cherry Peach Soup

IMG_0667

My husband was craving fruit soup. His favorite is the kind made with cream (or rather pareve cream), frozen stawberries, mandarin oranges, and pineapple.

I asked him if I could give him the kind made with pureed peaches and berries and orange juice. The recipe is really simple.  You take a pound of each of frozen peaches and strawberries (thawed) and put them in a blender with orange juice to cover. Puree and adjust the flavor with a couple tablespoons of sugar and a teaspoon of cinnamon.

My sister made this for Passover using canned peaches and frozen strawberries and it was divine.

My husband bought me some frozen berries, which I pureed with fresh-from-the-farmers-market peaches. The strawberries for some reason were not so good and did nothing for the soup. Instead of getting the rich ruby color and deep berry flavor that I should have gotten, I just got a deep peachey color and taste.  So I added in some pitted sour cherries that I aslo got from the farmers market. And I added in some chopped chocolate-mint from the garden.

Delicious!

 

IMG_0659

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Sour Cherry Peach Soup”

  1. Rosa Says:

    A delightful soup! Perfect when it’s hot and to end a meal…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. bakingobsession Says:

    I love sour cherry soup! My Hungarian friend introduced it to me, and I was hooked immediately!

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Yes, my husband looks forward to sour cherries all year. It’s such a short season, too.

Leave a Reply

