Sour Cherry Jam

IMG_0714

I just made sour cherry jam. So exciting. . . It was surprisingly easy. One pound of pitted cherries, 1 1/2 cups of sugar and lots of cooking.  I mostly followed David Lebovitz’s no recipe recipe , but I added in about 1/3 of a box of pectin in the beginning as insurance (looking at this recipe from Slashfood.

I left most of the cherries whole, but I cut up some of them. I added a couple of tablespoon of lemon juice and a 1/3 of a box of pectin and brought the mixture to a boil, stirring. I let it cook for 20 minutes. Then I added in the sugar in increments, stirring to dissolve between additions. According to the pectin box and the Slashfood recipe, I didn’t need to boil too much after that, but I let it boil for a while anyway until a cooled drop on a plate got all wrinkly when I nudged it with my finger. The jam is very, very sweet. Very. But good. It seemed like it would never gel, but it did finally set up after cooling.

IMG_0713

I’m thinking about using the jam in a Jewish Italian ricotta tart (also here).

IMG_0717

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

