Better Blueberry Muffins

IMG_0743

My niece made these blueberry muffins with me. Aren’t they lovely?

The recipe was from Kathleen’s Bake Shop Cookbook. The recipe says it yields a dozen muffins, but we had enough batter for a dozen plus enough to make a 5×7 mini cake.

The Kathleen’s Bake Shop recipe is fairly similar to the hugely popular To Die For Blueberry Muffins on AllRecipes (but scaled up to make 16 muffins and with less sugar (1 1/4 cups) a large amount of melted butter instead of oil (1 cup)  and more milk (1 1/4)). We used soy milk and corn oil instead of milk and melted butter.

IMG_0746

 The night before, I made the To Die for Blueberry Muffins with my son. I figured that the 3,000 AllRecipe site users who rated this recipe at 4.5 stars must be on to something. Of course, the thing with AllRecipes is that many people will highly rate a recipe after following the changes suggested by other site users. So you have to read the comments carefully.

According to the comments, I saw that I could make a dozen muffins with recipe instead of just eight. Sounds good, I thought. I also noticed that many people had issues with the crumb topping being excessive and causing the muffins to sink in. Foolishly, I ignored this warning sign.

When the muffins rose in the oven, half the topping got pushed off and fell onto the spaces on the pan between the muffins. These lost sugar nuggets then melted and burned onto the pan. Not good. Not easy to clean. The topping that remained on the muffins caused sunken in spots because the topping weighted down the batter, preventing it from fully rising. 

The muffins were good, though. I made a couple of changes to the recipe that I highly recommend: 1/4 tsp. almond extract and 1/2 tsp. cardamom.

IMG_0736

Why the blueberry muffin bonanza? We had been blueberry picking, that’s why!

IMG_0722

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Better Blueberry Muffins”

  1. Madam Chow Says:

    The birds ate all my blueberries – AGAIN – this year!
    You asked about atta flour. I just started experimenting with it, and it is the flour traditionally used for making chapatis, etc. The brand I use is “Golden Temple” and it says “whole wheat durum” on the label. It is paler in color than, for example, King Arthur Flour, but the thing that I’ve noticed is that it doesn’t have the bitter edge of many whole wheat flours. I think the golden color of the flour mixed in well with the challah.

  2. Mélanger Says:

    I am so jealous of your lovely fresh blueberries. That pile would cost $$$ here! 🙂 I love blueberry muffins. Almost seem healthy! 😉

  3. pragmaticattic Says:

    Julia- we are swimming in blueberries in NJ right now. And, yes, as we inhale blueberries, we keep telling ourselves how it is the healthiest anti-oxidantiant-esque fruit ever. In the winter, they are relatively expensive, so I have stuck some in the freezer.

    Madam Chow–The birds always got the blueberries from our bushes in the backyard until my dad had the smart idea to cover them with netting. The farm we went to was tented with netting. The birds are ruthless when it comes to blueberries. Can you blame them?

Leave a Reply

