Oven-Fried Cauliflower

IMG_0777

My husband and I loved fried cauliflower, but I really hate deep frying. I was very successful in getting breaded cauliflower nice and crispy in the oven.

 

Here is what you have to do: First, boil the cauliflower until it is tender. Drain and cool. Dip the cauliflower in egg and then toss in the breading of your choice. If you find the breading is not sticking, try dredging the cauliflower in flour before dipping it in the egg. This should give you a thicker egg coating that should help the breading adhere.

If you notice that the breaded cauliflower seems to have sesame seeds on it, that is because I used an Israeli breading mix that has sesame seeds in it. I added in some matzoh meal to the breading mix and added in some extra salt.

After breading the cauliflower, place the flowerets on a well-greased sheet pan and spray liberally with cooking spray. Bake at 400 degrees until brown and crispy.

IMG_0774

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Oven-Fried Cauliflower”

  1. FitHappyKay Says:

    That looks delicious! I’m looking for a cauliflower recipe.. but I’m not sure I’m feeling a breaded one.. lovely post though🙂

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Thanks for visiting, Kay. Cauliflower is great roasted without the breadcrumbs–but my husband is more likely to eat it if I bread it!

  2. Denise Says:

    This sounds fantastic! I have leftover cauliflower after making purée for baby food and needed to use it up. This will be a tasty addition to dinner tonight without all the deep-fried guilt! Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

