Yet Another Chocolate Cake

IMG_1132

I wanted to bring to dessert to a family that is having us for lunch, but I was feeling kind of tired. Also, I didn’t want to make a dessert that needs to be refrigerated because I have no idea how much fridge space my hosts have available.

So  . . . I decided to give this chocolate bundt cake from Jamie Geller a shot.

I made a few changes. Since I ran out of white sugar, I used half brown sugar. Also, I used water instead of non-dairy creamer. Lastly, the cake needed a full hour of baking. (Oops, I forgot to add that I added a half a bag, about 6 ounces, of chocolate chips to the batter).

I will have to update when I have had a chance to taste it, but it looks good!

Update: This smelled and looked so good, that I made a second cake to split with my parents. I added 1 teaspoon coffee powder to the water to give a mocha flavor. Both cakes came out great and were huge hits. The cake I brought to friends was almost completely devoured in no time. Very popular with kids. The chocolate chips are a must-add, I think.

Note: The second time I made it, I used all brown sugar (13 ounces), plus about 2 ounces (50 g) cocoa, and 8 1/2 ounces of flour. This was the best version.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

