Sephardic Leek Fritters for Rosh Hashana

It is traditional to eat leeks on Rosh Hashana, and here is an easy and delightful way of preparing them:  Ejjeh B’Kerrateh, or leek fritters.

IMG_1140

The LA Times printed this recipe for leek fritters two years ago in a Rosh Hashana article that focused on the dishes of Syrian Jews. In particular, the article focused on Poopa Dweck’s beautiful tome about this cuisine, Aromas of Aleppo.

The recipe is really simple. Thinly slice leeks and saute them. Then mix the leeks with eggs and flour and some seasoning (allspice, cinnamon, and salt). Fry patties in oil. 

I substituted matzoh meal for most of the flour, and I went pretty light on the allspice and cinnamon, adding just a tiny bit. Delicious! I couldn’t believe how so few ingredients could pack so much flavor. My husband thought I was roasting a turkey because the aroma from the fritters was so savory.

IMG_1141

Notes: The recipe calls for a pound of leeks. I used three large leeks, and I chopped off the dark green leaves before wieghing them. The white and light green parts weighed about 12 ounces.  The recipe calls for 3 Tbl. of flour. I used a Tbl. of flour plus 2-3 Tbl. of matzoh meal.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Sephardic Leek Fritters for Rosh Hashana”

  1. Kosher Samurai’s Leek and Potato Soup « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] just needed one bunch for my Rosh Hashana leek fritters, so I agreed to use the remaining bunch for soup. After a quick Google search, I settled on a recipe […]

  2. Rosh Hashana Leek Fritters « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] re-posting this (originally posted in 2009) because they are really delicious and […]

Leave a Reply

