ABin5 Challah and Sticky Buns

I made the challah recipe from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. The master dough for challah can also be used to make sticky buns, and I made a half recipe of that in a loaf pan. 

Here is what I did with the challah: I made three loaves, about 12 ounces each. Instead of baking them at 350 degrees, I baked them at 375 degrees.  The loaves were nicely browned at the end of the 25 minute baking period.

Instead of giving them a 40 minute proof after the initial 2 hour rise, I gave let the loaves rise for an hour. They really needed another half hour. I think the loaves were a bit underproofed.

The flavor of the challah was nice, but the texture was not as stretchy as I like. This could be corrected, I think, by giving the dough some folds during the 2 hour rise and by using a bread flour instead of all purpose flour. Letting the dough ferment in the fridge overnight would help, too.

I made two of the loaves with a four strand braid, which gives a much higher, more oval shape than the three strand, which tends to be flat.

The next day, I used another 12 ounces of the dough to made sticky buns. Here is what I did: I rolled the dough into a rectangle that was about 9″x13″, then I sprinkled the dough with the sugar, cinnamon, a pinch of cardomom, a pinch of black pepper, and a pinch of nutmeg. Instead of chopped pecans, I sprinkled over some raisins. I meant to roll up the dough from the short end and cut it into four large buns. Oops! I rolled it from the long end and cut it into 8 small buns. I also forgot to put any shortening inside. 

Here is what the buns looked like coming out of the oven:

I didn’t turn them buns out of the pan right away, and, when I did turn them out, lots of the caramel stuck to the loaf pan. It was okay. There was plenty of sugar as it was. Also, the lack of butter inside the buns was not a problem either. The raisins were a fantastic addition. I’m so glad I added them instead of the nuts.

Now, I have a pound of dough left. Do I make the pletzel or the soufganiyot? Or a little of both?

I’m sending this to YeastSpotting.

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “ABin5 Challah and Sticky Buns”

  1. Julia @ Mélanger Says:

    These do look really delicious. For an egg based bread I always make, I let it proof three times, and at least about 4 hours all up. It makes the dough really stretchy!

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Thanks, Julia! Wow, you proof three times? Interesting . . . I usually letmy challahdough ferment at least overnight in the fridge after kneading it really well, and that gets me a stretchy dough. But now I want to try triple proofing! What egg dough recipe do you follow?

  2. ABin5 Challah, Part II: Almost Famous’s Poppy Seed Onion Rolls « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] Recreating these rolls was the perfect use for the remaining pound of Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day challah dough. […]

  3. YeastSpotting December 18, 2009 | Wild Yeast Says:

    […] Challah Dough Sticky Buns […]

  4. Joanne Says:

    Yum yum yum. I love the new book – Healthy Bread in Five Minutes… but I definitely need to get my hands on ABinFive as well. These all look SO amazing.

  5. Bejma: Tunisian Challah « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] Braid Whole Wheat Challah (Peter Reinhart, but my variation) Lithuania Challah (Maggie Glezer) ABin5 Challah (Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day) Apple Honey Challah (Got Kosher, LA Times) 100 Minute Challah […]

  6. Need to Knead? « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] of Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day, which has an excellent recipe for no-knead challah (look here and here for my posts on this […]

Leave a Reply

