Daring Bakers: Gingerbread

  

The December 2009 Daring Bakers’ challenge was brought to you by Anna of Very Small Anna and Y of Lemonpi. They chose to challenge Daring Bakers’ everywhere to bake and assemble a gingerbread house from scratch. They chose recipes from Good Housekeeping and from The Great Scandinavian Baking Book (Beatrice Ojakangas) as the challenge recipes. 

As you can see, I made a Chanukah house . . . 

  

  

I made my own template and used the recipe from Beatrice Ojakangas’s book (love her books!). 

I used the sugar syrup to glue together the pieces. Working with the hot syrup was a little more dangerous than just using the royal icing, but I figured it would set up much faster and save me grief in the long run. 

  

Chag Sameach: Happy Holiday!

 I had never made a gingerbread house before (gingerbread men, yes, but a house, no). This was an interesting experience.  

  

I decorated the house with Leiber’s Aleph Bet cookies. I highlighted the letters with food coloring to make them stand out. The front of the house has the letters that appear on the four sides of the dreidel: Nun, Gimmel, Hey, Shin. This is an acronym for Nes Gadol Haya Sham: A Great Miracle Happened There. I spelled out this phrase on the side of the house.  

 

Mostly, my family was baffled, perplexed, and bemused by my gingerbread house. I left it at my parents house, and I think they are still picking off pieces of candy and cookies. I think . . .

Tags:

9 Responses to “Daring Bakers: Gingerbread”

  1. Julia @ Mélanger Says:

    So adorable. I love the gelt that you’ve also used. Great idea. So original!

  2. chef_d Says:

    Very nice gingerbread house, the cookies on the roof look so yummy🙂

  3. Jill Says:

    I love your Chanukah gingerbread house!! The alphabet cookies are great!!🙂

  4. Leslie Says:

    cute house! I like the uniqueness of it a lot especially the cookie roof.

  5. Rosa Says:

    That is a great idea! Lovely house!

    Best wishes for 2010!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  6. Laura Says:

    The house looks great! I have never heard of using hot syrup before this challenge. The royal icing requires some patience but works well too.

    Happy Holidays!

  7. Valerie Says:

    I love the idea of a Chanukah house! The detail and small touches are perfect! Way to go, and happy new year!

  8. clumbsycookie Says:

    That’s so cool! It’s good to see these house fit any holiday! Your roof is pretty cool!

  9. lisamichele Says:

    What a great idea to put Hebrew letters on the panels and the Star of David up front! I was thinking of doing a dreidel house initially! I cannot believe I missed this back in December! Beautifully done!

Leave a Reply

