Happy Birthday Mom!

Two of my mom’s favorite cakes: chocolate nemesis and coconut lemon layer cake.

I was a bit tired last night, so I abandoned my original plan to cover the chocolate nemesis cake with a ganache glaze before decorating. I just piped on some roses and did the lettering (a challenge for me under the best of circumstances–anybody have any letter piping tips for the handwriting impaired?)

For the lemon coconut cake:

White cake recipe:  CI’s coconut cake  (basically white cake with cream of coconut added);

Meringue Frosting recipe: boiled frosting from the CI lemon layer cake recipe;

Lemon curd filling recipe: Martha Stewart (this is the lemon curd recipe from the Martha Stewart site which is part of Martha’s recipe for lemon layer cake. But the lemon curd recipe I made was this (I needed two batches because I cut the cake into 6 layers). I’m not sure why I can’t find this version on the Martha Stewart website.)

I see on the forums at CI, that people have had problems with the boiled frosting recipe from the lemon layer cake recipe. The frosting worked for me (I think), but I did not follow the recipe exactly. I left out the lemon juice and corn syrup and substituted 1/2 tsp. of cream of tartar. The resulting frosting tasted pretty much like marshmallow fluff: dense, sticky, and super sweet. 

The last time I made this cake, I used a lemon chiffon cake with lemon curd and Dorie Greenspan’s White Out  Cake frosting. Dorie’s frosting was fluffier and less sweet (well . . . of course it was. Dorie’s recipe has 4 egg whites to 1 cup of sugar, while the CI recipe has 2 whites to the same amount of sugar). I think I prefer the Greenspan recipe, but I’m not sure about it’s stability. It melted after a few days in the fridge. CI doesn’t promise too much of a shelf life for its frosting either. I will have to see how it holds up in the fridge. (Martha Stewart’s frosting for this cake is worth trying, too. It has the basic proportions of Dorie’s recipe, but is a Swiss meringue like the CI recipe, instead of an Italian meringue like Dorie’s recipe. Added bonus: Martha has a video demonstrating how to make this frosting as well as the white cake.)

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Happy Birthday Mom!”

  1. Ellie Says:

    Lovely cakes! Happy birthday to your mom🙂

  2. Super Easy, Super Quick Deep Dark Chocolate Cake for Passover « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] I used Martha Stewart’s Seven Minute frosting (really a Swiss Meringue), leaving out the corn syrup. I cut down the recipe because I was frosting a single 6″ layer rather than a 8″ or 9″ double layer cake. Basically, what I did was take a single egg white and mixed it with 2 Tbl. water and 4 Tbl. sugar in a heat-proof mixing bowl. The bowl was then set over heat, getting whisked until the sugar dissolved and the mixture was hot. The hot mixture got whipped until light and fluffy, with some vanilla mixed in. This was more than enough frosting for a 6″ cake.  For a larger cake, like a 9″ layer cake, you would need a larger recipe, using four egg whites, 4 Tbl. water, and 1 cup of sugar. Update: the meringue frosting doesn’t keep that well–a meringue frosting that keeps better is this Italian Meringue frosting, or this super-sweet marshmallow fluff type frosting (leave out corn syrup–see my discussion of these frostings here). […]

Leave a Reply

