Kate Zuckerman’s Honey-Glazed Roasted Pears

I have been wanting to make these pears ever since I saw them on the cover of Kate Zuckerman’s book, The Sweet Life: Desserts from Chanterelle.

The recipe can be found here (Amazon) and here (LA Times).

Some obervations: I used bosc pears, which worked well. The syrup takes a long, long time to caramelize, and the pears need to be rotated or basted to prevent drying out while the sugar syrup cooks down. I didn’t follow the routine of changing the pears from top to side to side. I just rolled them around regularly and basted often.  To prevent splattering, Iwrapped the outside of roasting pan with heavy duty foil to make sides that went up quite high around the pears.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Kate Zuckerman’s Honey-Glazed Roasted Pears”

  1. M Says:

    They look divine! If I wasn’t so sure they taste even better, I would just want to sit and look at them. Beautiful!

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Thanks, M! I still want to try Pepin’s apricots with caramel using the canned apricots (the first Fast Food My Way?).

Leave a Reply

