Knish Nosh

Joe Pastry has an interesting tutorial on making knishes. His recipe (for dough, anyway) is fairly similar to Judy Bart Kancigor’s recipe (published in her book Cooking Jewish). Judy’s recipe, in turn, is based upon Arthur Schwartz’s recipe.

Anyway, here is how the knishes look when shaped Joe’s way:

Here is how they look when shaped the Schwartz way (see variation at bottom):

I went with Joe’s dough, but, for my filling, I made a variation on the Kancigor filling. I used whole egg rather than egg white and found that I didn’t need to use the instant potatoes. It was closer to the Schwartz filling, but with more oil. The amount of oil sounds excessive, but you don’t want dry potatoes.

I also rolled my dough out very, very thin, like strudel dough, and sprayed it with oil. Instead of just rolling the dough over the filling once, I got a couple of layers of dough (again, like strudel). This made for a flakier knish.

The logs can be pulled out longer to fit the legnth of the baking sheet:

Here is where you press down almost all the way to the bottom to make individual knishes:

The egg washed knishes are baked at 375 degrees until golden (45 minutes). Joe calls for baking knishes at 350 degrees, but I baked these knishes at the higher temperature called for in Schwartz’s recipe.

Note: these taste best made fresh. Reheated, they just aren’t quite the same.

Another note: You can use puff pastry if you aren’t keen on making your own knish dough. Here are some broccoli knishes made with puff pastry squares:

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Knish Nosh”

  1. lisamichele Says:

    I have been looking for a good knish recipe for ages..similar to this place in Brooklyn (I think) where a friend used to buy her knishes for parties – best knishes ever..even the red cabbage. I cannot remember the name of the place for the life of me..no idea why! If it’s Schwartz’s..I’ll feel stupid..lol

  2. pragmaticattic Says:

    Lisa, could you be thinking of Mrs. Stahl’s knishes? I know they had a cabbage filling and they were located in Brooklyn. And they were pretty famous for their knishes.

Leave a Reply

