Mame Thurber’s Devil’s Food Cake

Many years ago, I found a recipe for James Thurber’s mom’s chocolate cake in a celebrity cookbook. The recipe fascinated me because it called for making a chocolate pudding and adding it to the rest of the batter. The origin of pudding cake?

Anyway, years and years later, I finally got around to making the recipe (it has been reprinted in this Thurber book).

I had an issue with the instruction to add grated chocolate. The suggested amount of grated chocolate weighed a small amount–that couldn’t be the right amount for the whole recipe. I ended up using a little over 3 ounces of unsweetened chocolate, but even that made a cake that tasted not quite chocolate-ey enough to me. The cake had a wonderful brown sugar flavor, so it is worth making again, but with more chocolate. Lots more chocolate.

My husband suggested that I salvage these cupcakes with a rich chocolate frosting. My children could not resist these cupcakes when frosted. They hovered as I frosted and then tried to get in one shot before they attacked. I missed a sneak attack as I was focusing the camera. See the fingerprint?:

The frosting is: 4 ounces of margarine, 5 ounces of chocolate, and 2 ounces of hot coffee.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Mame Thurber’s Devil’s Food Cake”

  1. Rosa Says:

    Interesting! Those little cakes look mighty delicious!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

Leave a Reply

