Shavuoth Menu

Here is what I made for Shavuoth:

For an appetizer, homemade cheese blintzes with strawberry compote and sour cream

The rest of the meal consisted of oven poached salmon, asparagus with lemon dressing (Judy Zeidler, The Gourmet Jewish Cook), quinoa with mint and tomato, cucumber salad, leaf salad (Salad with a Crunch), and penne with smoked mozzarella and basil for one meal and macaroni and cheese for another meal.

Dessert was cheesecake, of course.

Oh, and for another meal, I served lentil soup and a quiche made from farmers cheese, jack cheese, and sauteed mushrooms and shallots. The lentil soup was from Judy Zeidler’s book, and the quiche was also (but I swapped out the scallions called for in the original recipe with the mushrooms and shallots because that is what I had in the fridge).

Notes: for the quinoa salad, I added the garlic to the quinoa while it was still warm to take the raw edge off. I also used avocado oil instead of olive oil

The bletlach recipe was Julia Child’s crepe recipe. (1 1/2 cups flour, 4 eggs, 1 cup water, 1 cup milk, 4 Tbl. melted butter). I held back a bit on the water (using about 3/4 cup) and got 23 crepes (each 6″). I normally cook the bletlach (or blintz leaves, or crepes) on one side, but I cooked these on both sides. I think the blintz hold together a bit better when cooked on one side because the uncooked side is a bit sticky and helps keep the whole thing stay folded together. On the other hand, cooking both sides makes the blintz leaves a bit sturdier. I just made up the filling (2 lbs. of farmers cheese, 8 ounces of neufchatel cheese, sugar to taste–maybe 6 Tbl.–and a tsp. of vanilla). I tossed the filled blintzes in butter and put them in a buttered 9″x13″ pan. Instead of frying them, I gently heated them in the buttered pan, over the stove, turning once. Actually, I used a blech (kind of a warming tray).

I served the blintzes with strawberries macerated with raspberry jam and a bit of ground black pepper and a pinch of salt.

The macaroni and cheese was made with a pound of macaroni, a can of evaporated milk, plus sharp and regular cheddar (about a pound total).

For the penne, I followed the same basic recipe, but switched things up and used smoked mozzarella and parmesan cheese. Instead of evaporated milk, I went with light cream.

For the quiche, I threw together a crust with a cup of white whole wheat flour and a stick of butter, plus cold water to make the whole thing cohere. The crust was fantastic–much better than a crust made with white flour.

For the cheesecake, I made a double amount of cheesecake batter and split it between three pans (one 9″ and two 8″). I line the pans with an oreo crust and the sides of the 9″ round pan with crisp ladyfingers cut in half. It looked very pretty.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Shavuoth Menu”

  1. lisamichele Says:

    Just throw me the all of the cheese blintzes with strawberry compote, and I’ll take care of the rest of the menu afteward! LOL Everything on your Shavuoth menu looks and sounds absolutely delicious!! Wish I was there!

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Thanks, Lisa! It was great, but now I have to work out like crazy to burn off all the extra calories!

  2. Marlene Says:

    what are you making for Chanuka? send recipes to marlene@thejewishhostess.com! Lets link up!

Leave a Reply

