Killer Chocolate Cake

I was talking to a friend before Pesach and she told me that she told me that she still had a freezer full of chocolate cake that she had to deal with before the holiday started. She looked intently at me and said: Have you made the Moosewood chocolate cake? It is killer! She said that she keeps a few cakes in her freezer at all times.

I said, nonchalantly, oh yeah, I have made that cake. It’s good.

No, she said, even more intensely. No, I mean, have you made it with the glaze?

What glaze?

THE GLAZE! On the other page! You put raspberry jam over the cake and then raspberries and then the raspberry chocolateĀ glaze, and then, oh man, it is really KILLER! It is really killer chocolate cake.

Hmmm . . . Okay, I thought, I guess I have to make it again. With THE GLAZE.

The recipe is pretty famous for being this really awesome vegan chocolate cake. Well, for being great chocolate cake period. And the recipe is conveniently on the Moosewood website.

It is really just a variation on wacky cake, or witches brew cake, or crazy cake.

Anyway, I let my son make it (with some help). You just dump ingredients into an ungreased 8″ square (or 9″ round or 9″ square) pan, stir it up with a fork, pop it into an oven, and you have cake. Cheap, easy, fast, hardly any clean-up. Made with ingredients already in your house. And so easy a preschooler can make it.

I didn’t make the glaze. I let my son sprinkle chocolate chips over the cake, I put the cake back into the oven for a few minutes to melt the chips and then I spread the melted chocolate around.

We polished the cake off in a shockingly short amount of time. My kids are begging for more. But, my husband and I are scared to make more–it is really killer cake. It is TOO good. (cue Jaws theme)

Additional notes: I used hot coffee as my liquid for my cake, not cold water. Cold coffee would be fine, too. But, definitely go with coffee instead of plain water. Coffee makes chocolate taste even better.

According to the cookbook Moosewood Restaurant Cooks at Home (1994, p.322), the recipe originally came from a 1976 issue of House & Garden. The recipe also appears in the 1997 Moosewood Restaurant Book of Desserts.

The cake (“Deep Chocolate Vegan Cake”) also appears in Moosewood Restaurant New Classics (2001), p. 424, and the glaze that my friend was raving about appears on p.426. The chocolate raspberry glaze is made by melting chocolate chips with raspberry jam. You spread raspberry jam on the cake and then pour over the raspberry/chocolate glaze. There are three other vegan frosting options listed on pp. 425-6: orange chocolate glaze, coconut chocolate, and peanut butter chocolate.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Killer Chocolate Cake”

  1. lisamichele Says:

    I’ve heard about the legendary Moosewood chocolate cake, but forgot about it until I saw your post. It looks so fudgy and delcious!

    That said, the veggie egg foo yung below brings back memories of occasional Sunday China Town dinners with my paternal grandparents. They always ordered the foo yung…my grandpa the veggie version. Yours looks just like it..so delicious!

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Thanks, Lisa. I know, what you mean: Egg Foo Yung does feel very retro, dinner with grandparents-ish. And the chocolate cake is a must make.

  2. Moosewood Chocolate Cake as Whole Wheat Cupcakes « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] son loved the Moosewood vegan chocolate cake we made last week so much, he wanted to make it […]

Leave a Reply

