Vegetable Egg Foo Yung

I liked the idea of the Egg Foo Yung recipe in the Moosewood Restaurant Cooking for Health Cookbook, but I didn’t have most of the ingredients, and I just didn’t want to make the dish the way that the recipe instructed. So, I took a look at a YouTube video on making this dish, and then kind of winged it, using the ingredients I had on hand.Here is what I did:

I sautéed a slivered onion in oil, added and cooked down about half a 14 ounce bag of coleslaw mix (plus some salt) until most of the moisture was evaporated and the vegetables were starting to brown. Then I set this mixture aside and beat 4 eggs with a little bit of soy sauce (2 tsp.?) and a drop of sesame oil, plus a pinch of pepper. I mixed the cooked vegetables into the eggs and reheated the frying pan with some more oil added.

I added half the batter to the pan, cooked it until brown on the bottom, flipped it over and cooked the other side until golden. Then I repeated with the rest of the batter.

Meanwhile, I made a gravy with a spoonful of cornstarch, water (1″ deep in a one quart pan, about a cup maybe) plus maybe a spoon of soy sauce a drop of sesame oil and a shake of powdered ginger. I cooked this until thick.

I topped the pancakes with the gravy and sliced scallion.

Thoughts: It might be nice to use other vegetables in the dish and to mix some steamed vegetables, like broccoli, water chestnuts, and red pepper with the gravy. Toasted sesame seeds on top might be nice, too.

It probably would also be easier to flip the pancakes if they were smaller. Instead of two pancakes, I could have made four.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

