Moroccan Roasted Vegetables

Wondering what to do with my farmers market bounty, I came across not one but two recipes for Moroccan spiced roasted vegetables. The first was in Moosewood Restaurant New Classics (p.263) and the other was in Suzy Fishbein’s Kosher by Design Lightens Up.

The recipes are similar, but use slightly different spices and vegetables. Here is a post that shows, step-by-step, Suzy’s recipe. The Moosewood recipe is here.

I veered away from both recipes a little. I think you can totally do whatever vegetables you like. The tomatoes, though, mingle with the oil and paprika to make a nice, savory sauce for the vegetables.

Moroccan Roast Vegetables

1 1/2 cups of each vegetable:
zucchini, cut in chunks
carrots, cut in chunks
onion
green pepper (red pepper would have been nice)
halved yellow and red grape tomatoes
3 cloves of garlic, 2 minced, one left whole
olive oil to coat the vegetables
generous sprinkle of the following spices (I didn’t measure, I just went heaviest on the paprika and cumin):
paprika
smoked paprika (just a little bit)
cumin
cinnamon (just a little bit)
turmeric (not as much as the cumin and paprika, but more than the cinnamon)
salt, freshly ground pepper to taste
drained can of chickpeas
juice of 1 lemon

Toss and roast at 400 degrees for 60-90 minutes, until browned and soft.

Both recipes suggest adding raisins, and my husband wanted to know where the prunes were. I think raisins are best added at the end so they don’t get burned, and adding prunes is really for prune lovers. I probably will have to add prunes next time or DH will complain. Adding toasted almonds on top is another serving suggestion. I think next time I will use sweet potatoes as well as or instead of carrots.

I served this with couscous. I could have incorporated the raisins and nuts by mixing them into the couscous also.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

