Blueberry Torte

This a super easy and delicous blueberry pie recipe.

Here is what you do: line a springform pan (or tart pan) with dough, add a mixture of berries, sugar, cinnamon, and flour, and bake. Top with fresh blueberries.

I picked up a copy of the recipe on a visit to Terhune Ochards (from Terhune Ochard’s 2008 Blueberry Bash 1st prize winner Martha Friedman), but the recipe is also available here and here (where it is called blueberry kuchen instead of torte).

Blueberry Torte
adapted from Martha Friedman’s recipe, and also recipes linked to above
crust
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup butter (I used Earth Balance margarine)
1/2 tsp. baking soda (I skipped this)
1 tsp. white vinegar (I used cider vinegar)
1/2 tsp. salt (I skipped this because the margarine is salted)
1 tsp. water (I skipped this)
(I added in 2 Tbl. sugar)

Cut margarine into flour and sugar and then add vinegar. Mix together. Press into a 9″ tart pan (I used a 9″ springform pan, which leaves room for more filling, but doesn’t make as nice a crust). Place crust on lined baking sheet and set aside while making filling.

Filling
1 pint of blueberries (or more, see note below)
3 Tbl. flour (I used 2 Tbl.)
3/4 cup sugar (I used 1/2 cup)
1 tsp. cinnamon (I used 1/4 tsp.)

Combine the filling ingredients and pour into the reserved crust. Bake the pie (on the lined baking sheet) at 400 degrees for 40-50 minutes.

Topping
1 pint blueberries (or more, see note below)

Right after taking the pie from the oven, sprinkle over the other pint of blueberries and sprinkle with a little sugar.

Note: Martha suggests sorting through the 2 pints of blueberries and setting aside the best half for the topping (what she calls the “top half”). The lesser berries (“the bottom half”) get cooked in the filling. If you use just 2 pints, the filling will be adequate, but flatter than if you add in another cup of berries (especially if you can’t resist eating some blueberries as you go along–best to have another pint on hand). The blueberry kuchen recipes linked to above call for adding the extra cup to the filling, but you could add more berries to the topping, or add some extra berries to the filling and the topping.

Bonus: Take a look at the 2o1o Blueberry Bash winning recipe for blueberry rugelach.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Blueberry Torte”

  1. Julie M. Says:

    Ok, I’m trying this. I have a tart pan that I bought a few weeks back and I’ve been dying to try it! This looks like the perfect way to break it in!

  2. PI DAY 3.14.15 | Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] Blueberry Torte […]

  3. Janet Says:

    I make this kuchen all summer. It’s awesome. You can also make it with prune plums. delish.

Leave a Reply

